Allan Villavicencio

Biography

Lives and works in Mexico City, Mexico.

Allan Villavicencio thinks of the pictorial process as metabolism in constant transformation, one that he develops through paintings and mixed media assemblages. His body of work challenges the every day to generate new narratives of perception. This contextualizes the pretext to seek the visible in unfolded perspectives and to interrogate the virtuality of the spaces we live in. By virtuality, Villavicencio means the imaginary visual scenarios we create when we pay attention to our surroundings, that can take place in small cracks, hidden creases and subtle shadows etc.

His practice is multidimensional, exploring various mediums including painting, drawing, collage, three-dimensional structures, installations and writing. It develops at the intersection of perception theories, the architecture topologies within the city landscapes, and the relationship between the clothing, the bodies and the objects that inhabit both the private and public spaces. Allan Villavicencio endows them with expansive and emotional qualities, creating "residual landscapes". In this sense, his pieces reveal ecosystems of material, form, and texture, that highlight how the fragmentary nature of the works makes up the whole.

Allan Villavicencio was awarded the Honorary Distinction for the XVIII Rufino Tamayo Painting Biennial in 2018 (Museo Tamayo, Mexico City) and is a three-time recipient of the Mexican National Fund for Culture and the Arts (FONCA). He has completed several residencies including Cité des Arts (Paris, FR) and Casa Wabi (Costa Chica, MX). His work has been exhibited in institutions in Mexico such as Museo Tamayo, Museo de Arte Carrillo Gil, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Oaxaca, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Sonora, among others.

Exhibitions

Allan Villavicencio

Biographie

Vit et travaille à Mexico, Mexique.

 

Allan Villavicencio considère le processus pictural comme un métabolisme en constante transformation qu'il développe à travers des peintures et des ensembles de médias mixtes. Son travail fait appel aux éléments du quotidien pour générer de nouveaux récits de perception. Ce contexte lui sert de prétexte pour rechercher le visible dans le déploiement de nouvelles perspectives et pour interroger la virtualité des espaces dans lesquels nous vivons. Par virtualité, Villavicencio fait référence aux scénarios visuels imaginaires que nous créons dans notre environnement, lesquels peuvent prendre place dans des plis cachés, des petites brèches ou encore dans des ombres subtiles.

 

La pratique d'Allan Villavicencio est multidimensionnelle et explore divers médiums dont la peinture, le dessin, le collage, le volume, l'installation et l'écriture. Elle se développe à l'intersection des théories de la perception, de la topologie de l'architecture dans les paysages urbains et de la relation entre les vêtements, les corps et les objets qui habitent les espaces privés et publics. Les dotant de qualités expansives et émotionnelles, Villavicencio crée des "paysages résiduels". Dans cette optique, ses pièces révèlent des écosystèmes de matériaux, de formes et de textures qui, tout en composant une entité, mettent en évidence la composition fragmentaire de ses pièces.

 

Allan Villavicencio a été distingué par la distinction honorifique de la XVIIIe Biennale de peinture Rufino Tamayo en 2018 (Museo Tamayo, Mexico) et fut trois fois bénéficiaire du Fonds National Mexicain pour la Culture et les Arts (FONCA). Il a complété plusieurs résidences, notamment à la Cité des Arts (Paris, FR) et à Casa Wabi (Costa Chica, MX). Son travail a été exposé dans plusieurs institutions au Mexique telles que Museo Tamayo, Museo de Arte Carrillo Gil, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Oaxaca, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Sonora, entre autres.

 

Expositions