Allan Villavicencio: The active side of infinity

7 January - 11 March 2023
Installation Views
Press release

“The act of walking always revives our memories” and, according to Don Juan, “the sorcerers of ancient Mexico believed that everything we experience is stored as a sensation on the back of our legs. They considered the back of the legs as the warehouse for a person’s personal history. So, let us set out now and walk in the hills.” (The Active Side of Infinity, Carlos Castaneda)

 

Allan Villavicencio’s work is inspired by the relationship between bodies and landscapes. Regeneration and metamorphosis are stages leading to the ultimate landscape: the only way toward an inner journey, one that allows us to reinvent ourselves immutably. In his work, the artist attempts to represent this moment of absence, a quasi-imperceptible interval that can only exist in our imagination, between our inner and outer landscapes. He loves this contradiction, these varying layers of meaning. He materialises it at Galerie Mitterrand in mural, painting, and ceramic bas-relief, superimposing memorable souvenirs.“On this volatile space we must build the house of our gaze, the house of air and water, where music sleeps, fire keeps watch, and poets paint.” (Octavio Paz)

 

Allan Villavicencio’s paintings contain few elements. They are nourished by a form he uses as a background and then expands. For him, our body determines our relationship to the world; he has, therefore, drawn inspiration from the photographs by Issey Miyake, influenced by the pleats of the fashion designer Madame Grès, brought to life by Greek statues where clothing dialogues with the body like a second skin. Villavicencio searches for this relationship between body and landscape in the animated feature Fantastic Planet, the aesthetic of which is reminiscent of the world of Rick and Morty, Alejandro Jodorowsky’s Dune, the Surrealist works of Armand Simon, or Michelangelo’s treatment of skin as fabric: something between life and death. Allan Villavicencio manages to create a unique atmosphere.

 

Where“the exterior is the interior, we enter places we have never been before.” The uniqueness of his paintings: from afar, we can only see one element on the surface, underlined by elements from Aztec art using a green, purple, or dark blue palette. He uses metabolism as a metaphor, skin as a landscape, and maintains an ambiguous relationship between the body and the exterior. He formalises with photographs shot with his mobile phone. “I paint small details on the surface – a simple view from my window from where I see a small volcano – these are successions of windows, of inner windows.”

 

The Active Side of Infinity can be interpreted on different levels. Indeed, Villavicencio’s paintings superimpose elements and forms that, once peeled away, reveal traces of a landscape, a micro-universe. These paintings are themselves part of an organic network of frescoes that take over the gallery’s walls. The use of different textures, spaces, and scales invites visitors on an initiatory journey, an inner meditative journey. It immerses us in our inner selves, “inside the earth … which is to say, inside matter itself, and at levels so deep as to be the most inaccessible”.

Anissa Touati, 2022

Works

Allan Villavicencio: The active side of infinity

7 Janvier - 11 Mars 2023
Vues de l'exposition
Communiqué de presse
The Active Side of Infinity
Allan Villavicencio
 
« La marche est toujours quelque chose qui précipite les souvenirs », selon Don Juan « Les sorciers de l'ancien Mexique croyaient que tout ce que nous vivons, nous le stockons comme une sensation sur le dos des jambes. Ils considéraient le dos des jambes comme l'entrepôt de l'histoire personnelle de l'homme. Alors, allons nous promener dans les collines maintenant ». (Le voyage définitif, Carlos Castaneda).
 
Allan Villavicencio pense son travail en relation entre le corps et le paysage. La régénération, la mue sont autant d’étapes afin d’arriver au paysage final : seul issue au voyage intérieur, celui qui permet de se renouveler immuablement. Dans son œuvre, l’artiste essaie de représenter ce moment d’absence, un intervalle quasi imperceptible, seulement imaginable entre notre paysage intérieur et extérieur. Il aime cette contradiction et ces différents degrés de significations. Il le matérialise au sein de la galerie Mitterrand par l’utilisation du mural, de peintures et de bas relief en céramique, autant de superpositions de souvenirs mémorables. « Il faut bâtir sur cet espace instable la demeure du regard, la demeure d’air et d’eau où la musique dort, où le feu veille, où peint le poète. » (Demeure du Regard, Octavio Paz).
 
La peinture d’Allan Villavicencio comporte peu d’éléments. Il se nourrit d’une forme dont il se sert comme fond et l’étire. Pour lui, notre corps détermine notre rapport au monde, il s’est donc inspiré de photographies d’Issey Miyake, influencées par les plissés de la couturière Madame Grès, insufflées par la statuaire grecque où les corps et les vêtements dialoguent comme une seconde peau. Cette relation entre le corps et le paysage, Allan Villavicencio va la chercher dans le film d’animation La Planète Sauvage dont l’esthétique est proche de l’univers de Rick and Morty, du Dune d’Alejandro Jodorowsky, des œuvres surréalistes d’Armand Simon, ou encore du traitement de la peau par Michel-Ange comme un tissu, quelque chose entre la vie et la mort  – Allan Villavicencio parvient à créer une ambiance singulière.
 
Où, « L’extérieur est l’intérieur, nous pénétrons où nous ne sommes jamais allés ». La singularité de ses peintures : de loin nous ne voyons qu'un seul élément en surface, souligné par des éléments de l'art aztèque par l’usage d’une palette verte, violette ou bleu foncé. Il utilise le métabolisme comme métaphore, la peau comme paysage et entretient une relation ambiguë entre le corps et l’extérieur. Il le formalise par l’utilisation des photographies de son téléphone portable. « Je peins des petits détails à la surface – une simple vue de ma fenêtre où j’y vois un petit volcan – Ce sont des successions de fenêtres, des fenêtres intérieures ».
 
The Active Side of Infinity propose plusieurs strates de lecture. En effet, les peintures d’Allan Villavicencio superposent des éléments et des formes qui défeuillés laissent deviner un paysage, un micro-univers. Ces peintures sont elles-mêmes incluses dans un réseau organique de fresques qui prennent possession des murs de la galerie. L’utilisation de textures, d’espaces et d’échelles différents invite le visiteur à un voyage initiatique, intérieur et méditatif. Il plonge à l'intérieur de soi, à « l’intérieur de la terre », « c'est-à-dire dans la matière, en elle, et dans ces niveaux de profondeurs les plus inaccessibles ».
 
Anissa Touati, 2022
Œuvres