Biography

b. in 1994 in Le Havre, France. Lives and works in Paris.

 

After completing studies at the Atelier de Sèvres in Paris, Marie Hazard went to London to pursue textile design at Central Saint-Martins. Her medium of choice is weaving: before taking to her own loom, she assisted American artist Sheila Hicks, a leading figure of the textile art movement of the 60s. Hicks is known for her innovative revival of traditional weaving practices. Weaving had long been considered more craft than art, but weaving techniques would enter the vocabulary of contemporary fine art through the work of Bauhaus artists such as Annie Albers, and later, the Arte Povera movement, including the work of Alighiero Boetti.

 

In a world where textiles are usually associated with industrial production, Marie Hazard advocates slowing down and returning to the fundamental principles and pace of craftwork. Somewhere between painting, sculpture, and installation, the meticulousness required of Hazard’s woven work in no way precludes spontaneity. Hazard draws her inspiration from contemporary culture and fashion in particular, keeping abreast of its historical evolution, techniques, and applications. By printing professional basketball jerseys onto her woven pieces, for example, she invites viewers to see them in a new light by evoking their utilitarian function and tactile pleasure.

 

Beyond the tactile properties of cloth, Marie Hazard uses the technique of weaving as a narrative medium. The etymological origins of the French word tisser (to weave), deriving from the Latin texere (to write) bring this idea to fore. Thus, from her loom, Marie Hazard literally weaves elements of her personal life – fragments of text, drawings, and even photographs – into a sort of diary that speaks of her world and of the world around her.

Works
Exhibitions
Video

Biographie

Née en 1994 au Havre, France. Vit et travaille à Paris.

 

Au terme d’études à l’Atelier de Sèvres, Marie Hazard emménage à Londres où elle intègre la Central Saint-Martins en spécialité textile. Le tissage devient alors son médium de prédilection. Avant de faire l'acquisition de son propre métier à tisser, elle assiste notamment l’artiste américaine Sheila Hicks, figure phare du Textile Art apparue dans les années 60 qui renoue très librement avec la pratique traditionnelle du tissage. Longtemps considéré comme relevant exclusivement de l’artisanat, le tissage entre dans le vocabulaire plastique moderne grâce aux artistes du Bauhaus tel que Annie Albers et plus tard de l’Arte Povera, à travers l’œuvre d’Alighiero Boetti.

Dans un monde où le textile est le plus souvent associé à sa production industrielle, Marie Hazard prône la lenteur en revenant aux fondamentaux d'une pratique artisanale. Entre peinture, sculpture et installation, les œuvres tissées de Marie Hazard font appel à une grande méticulosité qui n'enlève en rien à la spontanéité de son travail. Elle s’inspire librement de la sociologie culturelle et en particulier de la mode dont elle suit le développement historique, les usages et les techniques. En imprimant par exemple des maillots de basket sur ses tissages, elle incite le spectateur à se les réapproprier en évoquant leur fonction utilitaire et leur plaisir tactile. 

Au-delà de ces qualités plastiques, Marie Hazard utilise la technique du tissage comme un médium narratif. L’étymologie même du tissage, du verbe tistre, renvoie à la fabrication du tissu mais aussi de manière plus large à l’élaboration d’une trame et d’un langage.Ces pièces constituent un journal dans lequel elle incorpore des éléments personnels comme des photographies et des dessins.

Œuvres
Expositions
Vidéo
Actualités